DIY Adventure Nursery for Baby Boy

I have been spending a little bit of time away from writing again… I have a special someone taking up my time these days!

On April 7 we welcomed the most precious little guy!  He has give us a joy we didn’t know could exist.

baby

I had a friend of mine take newborn photos of him and his special space.  So before I go on… thank you to Tiffany Evans.  We love the way everything turned out!

I am a lover of all things artistic, home made, DIY, and creative.  I knew I wanted to make / paint / draw a lot of the things to fill his nursery.  What I didn’t expect was all of the other beautiful things people made for me!  I love every ounce of what is in his special room!

nursery gallery wall

I the picture above you can see all of the items that are included in his gallery wall.  Far left is a wooden plaque I purchased at Hobby Lobby, painted and hand lettered a quote “be brave, little one”  I loved the way it fit his adventure nursery!  Here is a closer look.

adventure nursery sign

The golden “X” is a quick painting I did and above that was a card someone had sent me once – a small golden mustache.  Who doesn’t love a good mustache card 🙂

In the center was a gift from a sweet friend of mine, the arrow was a hand made/painted gift from another sweet friend, and then below that is a painting I did of some gold feathers.  These were a simple painting and then I hand drew some lines in pencil.  I am really happy with how that turned out.

gold feathers home decor

Here is the mobile that I made and a picture for above his crib.  The mobile was made out of painted wooden balls in various sizes, some twine and a cross stitch circle.  I didn’t really have a plan, but started with my vision and I am so happy with the final product!

The sign was my very first attempt at painting on canvas.  I have gotten better, but loved something about the imperfections this one has.  I see it and am reminded of where I came from.  I love a quote I often tell myself from a blog I follow – It doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful – The Nester.  If it was made with love, it is perfect to me!

DIY nursery mobile and sign

Here is a picture of the mobile mid process!

DIY nursery mobileI can’t wait to read a book to our sweet boy every night!  I love everything about the idea of story time and him asking questions about the pictures!  These shelves have some artwork I painted, some photos from our maternity photoshoot with Emily Chidester (more on those here), an anchor that a friend made for a shower I was given as well as a tree design another friend of mine drew with leaf thumb prints of shower attendees.  In addition, a bank from grandma and some stuffed animals from friends!  All of my books are gifts or goodwill finds.

Nursery shelves

And finally here is an old dresser that my husband used as a child.  For christmas his parents had it painted blue to match the new room and then I found these adorable drawer pulls at Hobby Lobby.  They are one of my favorite things about this space!
baby boy nursery drawer pulls

I can’t wait to see our guy grow up in this room and let him know that his Mommy and her friends made each little detail so special for him!

mandi

 

 

About dryinkdesigns

As a designer in college, I know i wanted to eventually have my own design firm. After gaining experiences and knowledge through working with various corporations, I took the leap and began my own firm in 2011. This position allows me to use my love for creative storytelling with my marketing work experience and design logos and websites for individuals and companies that represent various industries nationwide. If I am not working on designs you will find me trying out new wineries or breweries with my husband or playing at home in my comfy clothes with my boys and Great Dane. I may be making a hand made necklace at a local bead shop or browsing local shops for unique pieces to add to our home. ​ If you want your brand to speak to you - and show others who you are... Let's get started!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, live and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?