Will You Take My Picture?

If you are a graphic designer, you probably have a nice camera and you probably took a photography class in school – which means you know JUST enough to be dangerous.

Let me start by saying that I do NOT pretend to be a photographer.  I love my fancy camera, I LOVE taking pictures – but typically only do “photo shoots” for friends, family and home decor!  I leave the real photography to the professionals.

Nonetheless, I am always trying to learn new tricks of how to take better photos when the opportunity arises.  The other morning I was watching The Nate Show and picked up some tips from Me Ra Koh.  You can read more here and follow her blog here.

MeRahKoh

 

Below are the tips she suggested to try when taking family photos:

  • Take photos in the afternoon sunlight – this will give you that great golden light.  Avoid 11am – 2pm.
  • Have the family wear similar colors.  She suggested to have the mom wear something she loves and have the family compliment her.
  • Remove distracting objects from the background.
  • Close gaps between bodies to create a more intimate feel.
  • Start with the traditional shots where everyone is looking at the camera and then get playful.
  • Have the dad play with the kids – laughter shows great in photos.
  • Have the kids hug on the mom – expresses compassion.
  • Do silly shots of the kids playing and parents laughing.
  • Do not forget to try various angles and backgrounds.
  • Use your layers.  Have one child up front and the rest of the family in the background out of focus.
  • HAVE FUN!

Me Ra Koh - family photos

 

I have a shoot coming up with a family member soon and I am going to try some of these with them!  I’ll share what we come up with!

Here are a few of my favorite photographers:

Stephanie Egan – Stephanie Egan Photography – Love this lady.  She is as kind as her photos are beautiful!  Click Here

Stephanie Egan

 

Ivan McCorkle – Ivan Conor Photography – This is a long time friend with a family history in photography.  He is a fantastic wedding / lifestyle photographer  Click Here but I have admit that I LOVE his landscapes!   Ivan gave me a simple technique to share: follow the rule of thirds.  Do not always center your subject in the frame.  Having them off-center usually creates a more appealing photo.

Ivan

 

Millie Holloman – Millie Holloman Photography – When I first started reading blogs, Millie’s was one of the first I found.  I love, love, love what her and her team do!  Click Here.

Millie Holloman

 

I will leave you with a few of the photos I have taken over the years.

Mandi

 

Happy Shooting!

Mandi

About dryinkdesigns

A marketing and business development background is the foundation for Mandi Boedicker’s passion for creating memorable branding support for a number of clients. Initially a graphic designer by trade, Boedicker’s marketing experience in the construction industry sparked a passion for networking and community partnerships. Dry Ink Designs was a natural next step. Boedicker’s freelance client work had spanned over ten years already while maintaining a full-time career, so she turned her creative energy into a career that benefitted the relationships she was building. Strengths in calligraphy, painting and photography soon grew into strengths in corporate identity strategy and marketing/communications support.
This entry was posted in design and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Will You Take My Picture?

  1. Martha Jones says:

    Thanks for sharing the tips, Mandi. Now if I can just remember them when I’m using the camera!

  2. Glad to share! You will do great!

  3. Pingback: a new photographer just came to town | dry ink designs

What do you think?

